Skip to content

A Potato that looks like Jay Leno

July 8, 2009


A Potato that Looks like Jay Leno

05/07/09 at 04:02 PM | 3 Comments

I was at the grocery store yesterday buying some produce for a shrimp stir fry for supper. I ran into the produce manager, who was joking with another employee near the potato area. I smiled at him, and he said, “Do you like eggplant?” I said, “Yes.” He told me to wait there and went into the back room. He emerged with an eggplant that had a protuberance that looked just like an upturned Pinocchio nose. He told me that he was going to put two cherry tomatoes on it for eyes. And then perhaps a lemon slice for a mouth. When he was done, he positioned and repositioned his “Mr. Eggplant” creation amongst the vegetables until it was arranged to his liking. I was charmed by this little moment of delight in the midst of grocery shopping. When I walked away he said, “Yesterday, I had a potato that looked like Jay Leno.”

I left the grocery store with a big smile on my face, which turned out to be contagious. Everywhere I went for the rest of the afternoon other people smiled back at me, all because the produce manager at the grocery store had decided to bring joy and pleasure into his day—and mine! So simple. It cost nothing. And the net effect was a boost in my immunity, a burst of circulation-enhancing nitric oxide throughout my cardiovascular system, and a contagious sense of fun and play that spread out into the world. All from one funny eggplant paired with a man who appreciated nature’s little joke enough to share it with others.

That, my friends, is the secret to a long and happy life. Noticing the funny little things that happen every day—and then spreading the fun!

Here’s another little episode that has kept me laughing all week. I was in San Diego last weekend, enjoying a room service breakfast with Diane, my CEO of Everything, and my daughter Kate. Kate had ordered some sausage for breakfast but it was missing from the order. About 10 minutes into our meal, there was a knock on the door. Diane said, “Must be the missing link.” Sure enough, our server was at the door with the missing sausage links. I thought her comment was not only lightening quick (she’s a Gemini, which rules communication and wit), but also very funny. That one sentence has produced at least a dozen smiles.

Here’s the take-home message: Whether it’s a funny looking vegetable or a witty remark, joy and fun are around us all the time. The more you pay attention to joy, the more you’ll experience it—and the healthier and happier you’ll be.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 8, 2009 4:48 pm

    Loved it Mary!! It is very important to take time to listen and enjoy all the little things people have to offer. When I think about it our training groups are full of these types of comments all the time. That must be one of the reasons my outlook on the day is so good after class. I truly enjoy working with everyone in our groups.

    Christa

  2. barbara permalink
    July 8, 2009 9:51 pm

    I’m just really glad to hear that Kate eats sausage!!!

Leave a Reply

