Skip to content

CrockPot Applesauce

October 18, 2009

Yesterday’s workout seemed to be focused on pancakes.The OUTDOORFIT gals were working out and not home eating pancakes. I am not sure what Ann and friends did when they went home. (Something about Real Maple Syrup.)
This time of year I like to make crock pot applesauce. Ann asked for a recipe but I am not very good with recipes but here goes.

I cut up 12 apples chunky style, throw them in the crock pot, add about a cup of apple cider,sprinkle in cinnamon and a teaspoon of vanilla extract. Cook them on low. It is great cooking overnight because you wake up and your house smells delicious.

The apple sauce is a great substitute for maple syrup on your pancakes. You can also make healthy pancakes with a wholegrain mix add some old fashioned oats,ground flax seeds. I am sure Bev has great healthy pancake recipes.
A delicious treat.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Ann permalink
    October 19, 2009 1:41 pm

    I went home and made both gluten free pancackes and whole wheat pancakes. I am freezing a LOT of them, as both kind of pancakes are rather dense. My friend who pushed herself during the workout was barely able to walk down my stairs on Sunday morning. Sporadically throughout the weekend, she would say, “Thanks Mary.”
    I suspect that someone in Rochester will be thinking of you for several more days.

  2. October 20, 2009 1:29 am

    What can I say ANN? Do you think they are coming back?

  3. November 11, 2009 8:18 pm

    I LOVE making homemade applesauce, and if you don’t have time to cook them in the slow cooker, you can do Mary’s recipe, but in the microwave! It takes 5 minutes! Put the cut apple pieces in large pyrex with the cider, and cover. Cook on high for 3-5 minutes, remove and put into food processor with the vanilla, cinnamon..(I also use nutmeg). Blend til you get the consistency you like! It’s so delicious w/the skins cooked on, and the added fiber is great!

Leave a Reply

