Skip to content

Buddha Bowl.

March 5, 2011

I was reading Kris Carr’s Crazy, Sexy Diet book which was too extreme for me but I did try her Buddha bowl which was delicious. This is a great idea for Set it up Sunday. You make a big bowl and you can eat it for days adding to it as you like.

Make organic brown rice

Add to your cooked rice, organic veges of choice. I chopped red pepper, carrots, celery, broccoli and parsley.

Toast raw pumpkin and sunflower seeds in a dry pan until they begin to pop or you think they are ready. Add them to your rice bowl.

Combine all ingredients with EVOO, balsamic vinegar and a small amount of agave nectar. Delicious~ I had a ladies lunch with my Mom, my sisters and Joyce my granddaughter and I served the Buddha Bowl. It was a hit.

You can also add protein of your choice, chicken or turkey.

This week I made the Buddha bowl with lentils instead of rice because I try not to eat too many grains. It was equally as delicious and I added crumbled bacon on top. I also like to add Bragg’s Liquid Aminos.

Give it a try, and let me know how you like it and what  your pet touches are.

Enjoy!

Mary

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 8, 2011 9:09 am

    Hi Mary, I too enjoyed reading her book. One of my favorite recipes from her is the avocado dressing…really yummy on raw, finely chopped kale and chopped red cabbage. And it kept in the fridge for a few days without turning color. Very tasty.

    Avocado Cumin Dressing
    Makes 1 cup
    From Kris Carr’s book Crazy Sexy Diet – recipe contributed by Gena Hamshaw of http://www.choosingraw.com

    Note: The note in her book says…”Inspired by a recipe taught by vegan chef Myra Cornfield, this creamy dressing is always a hit at parties and dinners!” My hubby and I love this creamy flavor mixed with greens, nuts, seeds and any other colorful veggie you can think of…

    Ingredients
    1 teaspoon whole cumin seeds
    3 Tablespoons fresh lime juice
    3 Tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
    1 ripe avocado
    ½ teaspoon salt
    ½ teaspoon Dijon mustard
    1 clove garlic, minced
    ¼- ½ cup water (depending on how think you like it)
    Black pepper to taste

    Preparation
    · Dry roast the cumin seeds in a heavy-bottomed skillet until fragrant. (I didn’t have the seeds, I only had ground so I used 1 teaspoon of ground to toast. I should have used more – yummy flavor!) Grind into a powder using a spice grinder (if not already a powder!).
    · Put the ground cumin, lime juice, oil, avocado, salt, mustard, and garlic into a blender and blend until very smooth – slowly add the water to the consistency you want.
    · Sprinkle with pepper to taste.

  2. March 8, 2011 10:36 am

    Thanks Wendy, It looks delicious.

Trackbacks

  1. The Slow Carb Diet « Outdoorfit's Blog

Leave a Reply

